How I deal with the (retinol/retinoid) uglies!

So, lured in by amazing – science backed – claims of anti-aging (yes, true anti-aging!) I’ve decided to try out some retinol/retinoid products.

Now, these products are serious business. Yes, the results have been proven but there is a LOT to keep in mind when using these products! I am by no means advocating or recommending the use of any retinol or retinoid products to anyone, heck, I don’t even know if they work for me yet! Because of this, I won’t be going into any further detail on the retinol/retinoids I’m using on this blog. Speak to a dermatologist if you have any questions about these products.

What I DO know is my skin is acting in new and… special ways since I started using them. (Why oh why did I decide to do this in Winter?!) This is what I’ve done so far to combat the dreaded “uglies”.


Hydration, Moisture and Gommage Peels! ❤️

Surprise! My skin is acting up, dried out, peeling, flaking, grey and just generally kinda disgusting. Now I know why the settling period of retinol/retinoids is called the uglies! I’ve been slathering on the hydrating products, sealing them in with some heavy-hitting moisturisers and sleeping packs. It’s helped a LOT but there’s still some peeling. I’ve skipped all other actives for the time being as I don’t want my face to fall off in chunks bigger than it already is! So my current night time routine looks like this;

First cleanser: Heimish All Clean Balm

Second Cleanser: Sukin Charcoal Gel Cleanser

FTE: Secret Key First Treatment Essence

Gommage: the Yeon Hallabong

Hydrating Toner: Secret Key Milk Toner

Essence: Scinic Aqua AIO

Serum: Holy Snails Aqua Shark 

Sheet Mask: Elizavecca Donkey Milk Steam Cream Mask, Too Cool For School Egg Cream Mask (Hydration), Illi Hanbang Camelia Intensive Moisture Mask, A’Pieu Milk Mask, are my current fave to really nourish and throw a lot of hydration and moisture into my skin

Eye cream: Purebess Galactomyces 80 Eye Cream

Occlusive: Benton Steam Cream or COSRX Honey Ceramide 

Sleeping Pack: COSRX Honey or Rice

Phew! So as you can see, I’m putting products that are a lot thicker and more moisturising than I was previously using, including some that I had put aside because I thought they were too heavy for my skin! I’ve lowered the amount I’m using and saw a decrease in irritation almost immediately, though keeping up this routing through winter should hopefully save my skin!

While I’m still getting a little bit of peeling, my skin isn’t red or sore and I’m hoping that the worst of it is now behind me.

Love,

Selkie

Leave a Reply

